chocolate is a verb

colors, flavors, whims and other growing things

getting inspired…

moving the big basketI’ve never been to Anne Arundel County, Maryland, but Melanie, who blogs at Beyond Back Creek, takes us there in her reflections on life, craft, cooking, design, chicken coops and much more. Melanie also visits chocolate is a verb and has found these posts worthy of the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, for which I am hugely appreciative.

Acceptance requires the nominee to reveal seven bits of information and then suggest other bloggers for the award. So, herewith:

I’m an only child, but perhaps you guessed that.

As a former scuba instructor and a maker of baskets, I am among the select few who proudly wear the epithet “underwater basket weaver.”

When my big basket (yes, that big basket) was displayed at the Seattle Art Museum, I was surprised and delighted to discover that visitors dropped notes into it, like pennies into a well.

My musical tastes are far-flung and eclectic, but if I had to narrow it down, I’d take the blues. Hmmm, that doesn’t narrow it down much, does it?

I have had two birthdays graced by a total eclipse of the sun that I was able to see in person: February 26, 1979 and February 26, 1998.

I don’t own a television.

Many years ago, I was commissioned to collaborate with a needlepoint expert in the decoration of a 40th-birthday gift: a jockstrap. She stitched the waistband with the words “40 and still growing” and my part consisted of crocheting many dozens of life-size purple grapes, which decorated the business portion of the, ahem, garment.

In addition to chocolate is a verb, I blog daily about poetry and less frequently for Other Mind Press. (I also blog for clients, but that’s another matter.) Your Comments, Likes and subscriptions are very, very meaningful. Thank you.

I visit many blogs. Here are some that I find consistently Very Inspiring:

Alphabet Roadtrip

Talking to Strangers: An Introvert Hits the Streets

Riva Berkovitz

Ranch Notes: stories from this life in the country

The Dad Poet

Very Inspiring Blogger Award

10 responses to “getting inspired…

  1. sonofwalt January 31, 2013 at 10:43 am

    I am truly honored. Thank you. I am never good at following through on these, but I will try to make time to reciprocate this week! Thanks again. I really am inspired by your found poetry.

  2. tomwisk January 31, 2013 at 10:51 am

    Again awesome. In the proper sense. Your blog inspires awe in me. Why? I blog and frequently find no matter how hard I try I can’t get the final result I want. Were I a basket weaver, my output would be small in size, suitable for storing toothpicks. I read your work and want to be better.

  3. jik January 31, 2013 at 11:06 am

    Thank you so much…for reading, for commenting and, most importantly, for continuing to write toward that final result. One of the things I do that I think makes a huge difference in the quality of my writing is I read it aloud, sometimes over and over, making corrections and changes as I go. I think that helps to find the music in the words. Your ear hears things your eye doesn’t see.

  4. Pat Hunt January 31, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    Congratulations! You are VERY deserving of this award! xo

  5. Lena Rivkin January 31, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Judy, as someone who has found you deeply, personally and creatively inspiring for years, all I can say is it’s about time someone has recognized and rewarded you.

    I always enjoy your writing because of your attention to details- you write with such an honest rawness that draws the reader into your personal story.

    I type this with my treasured handmade green pillow with scripted alphabet patterns (courtesy of you) and my crocheted basket of inspirational words (also courtesy of you) in my home.

    Your official commendation is elegant and lovely and well-deserved.

  6. jik January 31, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    Thank you, Lena! Thanks for visiting, reading, commenting…and being my friend.

  7. Beyond Back Creek February 2, 2013 at 4:58 am

    Even your answers to the questions is inspiring! Love your work!
    Melanie

  8. jik February 2, 2013 at 7:57 am

    Thank you, Melanie, and thanks again!

Leave a Reply

