chocolate is a verb

colors, flavors, whims and other growing things

May 30

jik to DAK at 86May 30. My mother’s birthday.

In our family tradition of handmade cards, this was the ‘card’ I gave her when she turned 86, in 1997. Over some weeks, I had sewed and stuffed the numbers and covered every inch of the surface with fabric paint, concerned that it would be fully dry by her birthday.

Dorothy had already slid quite a way down the slippery slope of dementia, no longer able to cook or drive, requiring my father’s help with shopping and cleaning and the many small decisions that form the underpinning of each ordinary day. But she was still able to express herself, recognized most people and took pleasure in choosing her clothes and working in her art studio. Her ability to gauge time and sequence was damaged, but her birthdays were always an occasion much anticipated and enjoyed.

98And we did celebrate that birthday, somehow. There was probably a restaurant dinner and cake and candles. My father would undoubtedly have given her a small wood carving, sanded smooth, initialed and dated. I don’t remember the particulars except for joking that we would keep the big 86 and turn it upside down and use it again when she turned 98.

But she didn’t make it to 98 and neither did my father. In fact, that would be the last of our birthdays we celebrated as a family. That May, just before my mother’s birthday, my father was diagnosed with lung cancer; he would be gone before his own birthday in December.

Although, in those early days, there was no reason to be without hope — certainly my father’s choices erred on the side of hope — if my mother understood, she was in denial, and I was plunged into a terrible and surprising grief.

But we did what our small family had to do. We pulled together, faced each day with a measure of good cheer, managed the sad business of my father’s illness and worked together to assure my mother’s care in the years ahead.

The progression of her decline seemed to protect Dorothy from a sense of loss — a small gift to us both.

We celebrated her birthday together five more times, each one marked with a special meal and, of course, a handmade card.
. . . . .
jik to DAK, 1997, 12″w x 13″h

4 responses to “May 30

  1. tomwisk May 30, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    You really loved your family. Thanks for a view inside.

  2. jik May 30, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    Thanks for witnessing, Tom.

  3. mamalulu1 December 22, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    I loved this entry. My kids always ask what I want for birthday and Christmas and the answer is always a home made card. It is one of the greatest gifts they can give (other than love etc.). My mother passed away 2 years ago from breast cancer. My sister-in-law passed away with breast cancer in 2007. She was 43. My kids Step Mom, currently in the hospital with a cancerous brain tumor. With treatment she will be lucky to make it past 14 months. It’s tragic. Cancer robs. But those home made cards keep on giving …precious memories. Thanks for that lovely heart felt post. Hugs

  4. jik December 22, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    From the heart…to you, too. Thank you.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.