chocolate is a verb

colors, flavors, whims and other growing things

making lines

DAK pink stitched piece, undatedI don’t recall my mother ever sewing anything as practical as clothing or curtains, but sometime after I had left home a sewing machine was installed in her studio. She began to ‘draw’ on paper with lines of stitches.

In this piece, the underlying paper (8″ x 10″) is visible only at the very edges. Except for that ragged and tormented margin, where a tint of paint can be seen, all of the apparent color is thread, stitched and overstitched, turning the paper into a dense, canvas-like material. She may have used the painted image as inspiration, but at some point, all that was left of the painting was the lines of thread that covered it completely. Some deep puckering suggests that the paper must have ripped, but she kept stitching, row upon row, in an impasto of thread.

I don’t know if Dorothy considered this finished, or successful. Parts of it are quite beautiful. There’s a kind of fierceness about it — an aggressive attempt at mastery — an imperfect draft of a difficult poem with a few worthwhile words.

(Here’s another example.)

7 responses to “making lines

  1. kristin September 5, 2015 at 6:13 am

    When I was teaching my children to sew, I had them sew seams on paper first. I never had any idea of using paper and thread like this. Next time I get out my sewing machine I might try a small piece.

  2. jik September 5, 2015 at 8:28 am

    I love that image of children sewing seams on paper! A poem!

  3. lucidwritingandvisuals September 5, 2015 at 9:38 am

    Wow! Lovely abstract pieces!! She seems like she is/was a brilliant artist!

  4. lucidwritingandvisuals September 5, 2015 at 9:38 am

    I am a fan of mixed media pieces!

  5. awritersalchemy September 5, 2015 at 10:07 am

    it’s so beautiful!

  6. kristin September 23, 2015 at 6:54 am

    I just hoped they didn’t sew up their fingers!

Leave a Reply

