chocolate is a verb

colors, flavors, whims and other growing things

December 8

jik to LRK birthday insidejik to LRK birthdayMy father’s birthday and a card holds up the faded mirror of my young self. I don’t know how old I was when I made this card, but I was already coloring inside the lines. The heart and the figure of my father are carefully outlined in pencil, and there’s a pencil line to indicate the floor. I loved coloring, and had plenty of crayons and paper, but wasn’t allowed to have coloring books; I had to make my own designs. (The lesson must have stuck; I have no desire for any of the scores of “adult” coloring books currently on the store shelves, just astonishment at the size of the sudden trend.)

With its little brackets, the table is easy to recognize: it’s the card table in my mother’s studio, the one I had occasion to study most often, as I stood in the doorway, hoping she’d show some interest in me, but mostly just annoying her.

Perhaps the big hovering pink thing is a practice cake, where I was working out the concept of roundness. Anyway, the important parts are there: my father, the cake, and love. Happy Birthday, Papa.

7 responses to “December 8

  1. Eric Solstein December 8, 2015 at 10:16 am

    Damn, I miss my dad who died the Summer before last. And I miss my son, who holds an awful grudge against me in the divorce with his mom. I cry for him when I see the old cards he’s sent me, and for my own dad at the same time, and I’m just toughing it out now with your sweet picture.

  2. kristin December 8, 2015 at 10:29 am

    Your picture looks quite a bit like mine and my sisters. I don’t know if that makes the three of us early geniuses or if all kids pictures look that way.

  3. jik December 8, 2015 at 12:39 pm

    Oh, I’m going for the genius title, definitely! ;-)

  4. jik December 8, 2015 at 12:39 pm

    Damn, indeed.
    Hugs.

  5. Pat Hunt December 8, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    Beautiful…..

Leave a Reply

