chocolate is a verb

colors, flavors, whims and other growing things

13 years

DAK announcement cardSo much time. So little time. The date, April 15, not a stab but a gentle shake. The green line of my emotions on the oscilloscope no longer sharp peaks and plummets, but low swells.
Those last 72 hours a play enacted between two phone calls. The first from the assisted living, “Your mother…” and the second, late at night, from the hospital, “Your mother…”
And in between, keeping her company in her silence, trying to decipher the map on this last unplanned journey until the nurses said Go home, get some sleep. I never slept. Howled into the night for her release. Then the call and the drive back through the empty streets and the long walk down empty corridors and into the silent room where the lights were dimmed and Dorothy was there but not there.
And after we had spent some time together in that new stillness, I went home again and sat up for the remainder of the night scanning photos, printing and labeling and stamping the cards that would go in the mail at first light. And after that so many things changed.

6 responses to “13 years

  1. kristin April 15, 2016 at 8:26 am

    I enjoy your writings about your mother. I remember when my mother died but I wasn’t there. My sister and I had come to say good by to her but couldn’t stay. She died the day after we left.

  2. jik April 15, 2016 at 8:37 am

    Thanks, Kristin.

  3. Lena April 15, 2016 at 3:08 pm

    Judy, I’m very moved reading your beautiful words about your mother. And I remember this time of your life and can’t believe it’s been 13 years.

  4. jik April 15, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    Thank you so much, Lena. Hard to believe how much has changed in our lives since we met.

  5. awritersalchemy May 1, 2016 at 5:41 pm

    So glad I saw this! Thank you for writing it, and for the pictures.

Leave a Reply

